Secret shame

For those of you who know me, I’m guessing that this “secret shame” isn’t so secret but I really do try to keep it under control. If you don’t know me, I’m sure you are thinking and maybe hoping this is something scandalous, you may be disappointed.

There are a few things I don’t like to admit:

1. My obsession with the Real Housewives franchise (not NYC since Bethenny left but all the others). I’m also hooked on the Food Network but do not cook, and anything by Tori Spelling – I feel we are meant to be friends.

2. Those gross marshmallow ice cream cones. I can sit and eat a bag of them, which I did in fact do while writing this post.

3. I am completely obsessed with children’s birthday parties. My poor kids are probably scarred for life by this little problem. Their expectation of what is “normal” is now a bit skewed.

By no means do I feel that the bigger the party the better, and I don’t think you need to spend a fortune to make it memorable. Though I can relate to those ladies on Party Mamas, and often find myself nodding along with their ideas. I realize this is a problem but I’m really not sure what the cure is. Isn’t the first step admitting you have a problem? It’s a good thing we only have 2 kids because I do my best to keep things even but feel that I need to challenge myself and not repeat ideas or themes. I can literally spend months planning these afternoon affairs.

I feel I need to explain that our parties tend to end up bigger than we anticipate because most of our friends have 2+ kids, and I truly hate excluding anyone. So either me, Scott or the kids ends up inviting everyone we bump in to. I figure if we are doing all this everyone should get to enjoy it. It’s such a great way to make memories and we use it as a social excuse so we can see our friends. See it is totally selfish and not about my kids at all!

Birthday party recaps

Boy Birthday #1 – Mini carnival complete with photobooth, bouncy castle and assorted carnival games and prizes. This was my first birthday party so I was just getting in the zone and didn’t know what possibilities existed.

Boy Birthday #2 – Travelling petting zoo complete with pony rides on the front lawn. Chickens, goats and bunnies in the garage. We had to tent the front driveway due to crappy weather and while the tent was going up some local teens walked by and asked when the party was happening. They were more than shocked when we told them it was for a 2 year old. Sorry – no house parties yet.

 

Boy Birthday #3 – We rented the ice at Scotiabank Place (now the Canadian Tire Centre) and had the local hockey mascot come join us for a skate. It was incredible because we could include everyone we knew.

Go Sens Go
Go Sens Go

I feel I dropped the ball with birthdays #4 and #5. Our son was born at the end of October so I always have to plan for unknown weather. For his fourth birthday we went to a great local farm and had a costume party as it was close to Halloween. His last birthday we went to the new indoor trampoline park and it was great and it wasn’t in my house, a win for everyone but nothing epic.

Girl Birthday #1 – a safari party at an indoor play park. A great option but not as memorable as I would have hoped. My kids were not born during good months for outdoor events which I find somewhat limiting. Her birthday is at the end of March.

Girl Birthday #2 – a princess party complete with visit from her favorite princess. I was super proud of this event and all the details that came together to transform our house in to a magical castle.

Snacks fit for a princess
Snacks fit for a princess

2nd birthday

Royal Party #2

Girl Birthday #3 – to date this may have been my favorite party. Dress for a Mess – Paint Party. Because our little girl’s friends are mostly little boys I thought a princess party was too limiting and I needed something more gender neutral. We turned out house in to an art studio, complete with a custom ceiling treatment made up of almost 3000 hand made paper chains.

Izzy Bizzy Cakes
Izzy Bizzy Cakes

Entrance #3

Official Princess Parties
Official Princess Parties

I was talking with my friends and they have come to expect nothing less than these over the top parties, and based on the business we are in they would be disappointed if we didn’t keep up the tradition. I guess I should start planning for the next party soon.

Leave a Reply

