Event Aftermath from a Wedding on Steroids   

It’s amazing how long it takes me to recover from an event. As I had previously written we were taking part in the “Best Day Ever Ottawa” event. This first-year event happened on November 15 at the Museum of Nature. It sounds simple enough, set up the best wedding possible based on you theme. But it was so much more than that. We were on #TeamToast and trying to wow our guests with a blinged out, over the top glamorous wedding spread. Judging by how people’s jaws dropped when they walked in I think we may have nailed it. (It turns out that when the votes were counted #TeamToast was victorious – this was announced Sunday evening after I had written this blog post).

After putting in just over 19 hours Saturday I am not sure if I can feel my legs today. I forgot to wear my pedometer but I think I would have hit my step goal well before lunch time. Along with Wendy from Mingle Mingle & Marry, we headed off to the Museum before 8am to load in and get started. We were setting up 3 different spaces (ceremony, reception, dancing space). We got there, loaded in relatively quickly and got to work.

Getting ready to load in
Getting ready to load in
Ceremony room about to get started
Ceremony room about to get started
Draping in progress
Draping in progress
Draping before flowers and lights
Draping before flowers and lights
Adding flowers
Adding flowers
2 different themes, 2 different ceremonies
2 different themes, 2 different ceremonies

The biggest challenge was that we were splitting the space of the ceremony down the middle. You have two different aesthetics that somehow have to be pleasing to the eye. It was hard at first because we couldn’t cut in to the other teams space and everything still had to flow without looking choppy. We worked at creating a soft and ethereal space with candelabras and candles framing our half the aisle, and billowing white drapes to create the alter area. Our glam/romantic theme provided quite the contrast to the other team’s rustic/alternative theme.

Moving upstairs to the 3rd floor was the biggest piece of our glam puzzle, the reception room. This room had everything that you could do if you wanted to create the BEST DAY EVER, think over the top down to the last sparkling piece of stationary. Glow tables, sequin linens, glass charger plates, satin napkins, ribbons and flowers hanging from the ceiling it was what you would imagine for a glammed out wedding. This was also the room that had been causing me anxiety all week. Since my site walk through the month before my biggest concern was how I was going to cover the ugly exit sign that was off center to the wall our head table was on. I was standing there Saturday with Wendy literally just staring at the ceiling, we were going back and forth on how to attach to the ceiling framing. We had a couple of less successful (I don’t want to say failed) attempts. We finally created this canopy of draping over the head table that completely covered the hideous glowing red sign – that goes with absolutely no décor despite the fact it is needed for fire regulations!

Rose gold sequin runners
Rose gold sequin runners
Beautiful creamy flowers
Beautiful creamy flowers
Modern furniture and different styles of tables
Modern furniture and different styles of tables
A little sparkle
A little sparkle
That awful EXIT sign I had been worried about hiding
That awful EXIT sign I had been worried about hiding
You can barely see the sign
You can barely see the sign
Glow tables
Glow tables
The finished product
The finished product

One of my favorite moments of the day was while I was at the top of a ladder (not the very top step because I did see the signs warning me not to stand on the top step) while 4 of my team mates were directing me on the right amount of drape for the canopy. It was a little like pull there, now over there, and back, just an inch lower. It was funny but only goes to show how committed our team was to the little details to make the event special for the couple renewing their vows and all the guests. My thighs are still burning from the number of times I was up and down the ladder yesterday. Thank God I don’t have a fear of heights.

The really hard part of all the draping was when I would find myself staring directly in to the overhead lights and then be left with spots in my eyes hoping not to lose my balance. I almost ripped part of my hand off when I was trying to remove this ridiculously strong earth magnet that had seemed to have locked to the metal frame, and got part of my hand stuck under it. Who knew decorating could be so dangerous??

Normally, when we set up for events we leave when we are all setup and just come back for the tear down. I stayed to represent the business in the trade show portion and then started the tear down as the guests moved out of one area and in to the next. One of the challenges was that there was limited loading dock spa and some of the bigger companies had parked in there to start moving out their equipment and furniture. It turns out that by the end of the night instead of trying to wait in the loading dock line up, I made about 12 individual trips to my vehicle through the front door. At least I could keep moving because I think if I had stopped my body may have seized up. I am not sure if it was trying to tell me I need to get in better shape to keep up work like this. Now as I sit back and recuperate I can’t wait to do it again despite a few aches and pains – man, I sound old!

I know it sounds cheesy but the whole thing was a true collaboration and a team effort for us. It was great to work with vendors we normally don’t get to and see them do what they do best.

Proud member of #TeamToast
Proud member of #TeamToast

Thank you #TeamToast

Planner: Events by Toast
Officiant: Alan Viau
Photographer: Barb Cameron, Barbara Ann Studios
Flowers: Flowers Talk Tivoli
Furniture: Party Time Rentals
DJ: Marco Ferri Entertainment
Photobooth: MDRN Photobooth Co.
Sweets: Petite Event Co.
Stationary: Paper Studio
Custom decals: Sparkling Expressions

I am so sorry if I left anyone out. These were the people I was working closest with for the event.
There were professional photos taken, the ones in this blog are ones taken with my phone or that were published to Instagram.

 

 

Leave a Reply

