rental products for 2015

Shake It Off

Today was a great day. I need to take the time to appreciate these days that inspire and energize me and hold on to those good feelings. Maybe it is the fact that I had the sunroof open and there was sunshine and fresh air but I feel that we are entering a season of renewal. Thank goodness for Spring, it can’t arrive soon enough!!!

In business there are definite peaks and valleys. After our Open House I was feeling incredibly exhausted and down. With events you really do live and breathe them, they start to feel like an extension of yourself. The positive comments seem to fall by the way side but the negative comments seem to feel like personal attacks (though they really aren’t). I actually do appreciate constructive criticism that is fixable but comments about things that you have no control over are kind of useless (the weather was too hot/cold/wet/dry/humid, they were upset that the 60km walk they signed up for was too long, they couldn’t get the magnet to stick to a plastic surface, the white linen wasn’t white enough, whatever it may be). I, like every event planner and service provider, want things to be perfect for my clients but sometimes it just doesn’t go that way. We are all human with lives outside our jobs.

I am learning that I can in fact over extend myself and it is okay to ask for help. Sadly I realized this means I can no longer do it all or think I can and I am going to have to be okay with that. Now the hard part of trusting someone to help me is going to have to happen.

Thank you Taylor Swift, because these song lyrics have been running through my head non-stop and help me to keep moving on with a smile on face and a bit of a skip in my step

‘Cause the players gonna play, play, play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate
Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake
I shake it off, I shake it off
Heart-breakers gonna break, break, break, break, break
And the fakers gonna fake, fake, fake, fake, fake
Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake
I shake it off, I shake it off

I never miss a beat
I’m lightning on my feet
And that’s what they don’t see, mmm-mmm
That’s what they don’t see, mmm-mmm

I’m dancing on my own (dancing on my own)
I make the moves up as I go (moves up as I go)
And that’s what they don’t know, mmm-mmm
That’s what they don’t know, mmm-mmm

Excerpt from “Shake It Off” written by Taylor Swift

From some of those low and emotionally exhausting experiences and interactions, you need to step back, take a deep breath, pick yourself up and gain strength from the situation. In the last two weeks I have found a fresh energy for our business and finding ways to improve on what we currently do and trying to excel in new areas. It has taken some time to get to this point of acceptance and learning but I am there now. We have been overwhelmed with the response from our Open House and are booking solid for consultations and there are brand new exciting opportunities on the horizon. I can’t say too much as we try and get these ides to take shape but 2015 looks like it will be exhilarating and challenging and hopefully give us new learning opportunities.

It is funny how certain situations can alter you perception of how to run your business. I may have lost some of my naivety and realized that we are running a “true” business and it is no longer just a weekend venture. Often when you are up to your eyeballs you can’t see the forest from the trees. Oh how I wish I could not care when I leave for the day, the pitfalls of being personally invested (see my previous posting It’s just business and IT IS personal). People don’t know what you are doing behind the scenes to make things happen and they don’t have to. They aren’t going to know if you are struggling or stressing and it isn’t their problem because they have their own priorities and goals. The point is we don’t know what everyone is dealing with to try and reach our own personal finish lines.

My biggest take away slash life lesson for the month of March is to continue to be the best version of myself as possible and sometimes I will just have to dance and shake it off!

Leave a Reply

