A Room with a View

A place belongs forever to whoever claims it hardest, remembers it most obsessively, wrenches it from itself, shapes it, renders it, loves it so radically that he remakes it in his own image.
– Joan Didion

So I have once again signed up for an online writing class to try and improve and challenge myself. I find I need to have goals to get things done, so I figured stretching my limits as a “blogger” (I use the term loosely) would be good – I actually enjoy writing so I can do something I like and feel like I am accomplishing something and being productive, a win-win for me!

So here is my writing challenge for the day:
If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?

This time of year as people are planning their weddings one of the biggest pieces that they need to figure out is their venue. This current writing challenge got me thinking about a place that holds a special place for me. I have told my clients when you know you know. You don’t keep searching for a new fiancee when you have found the one that fits you best. The same goes for a venue, you could keep shopping but why?  For our wedding we looked at exactly one venue (it has since burnt down as a result of a tragic fire). We walked in to this place on a cold night in November, I couldn’t even see the outdoor garden because of the snow and the fact it was pitch black at 8 o’clock at night and yet I still knew I was going to get married there. I didn’t want to look any further and I didn’t. We weren’t engaged at the time so I had to try and be patient – something that is incredibly difficult for me.

West Carleton Meeting & Conference Centre
West Carleton Meeting & Conference Centre

Funny story, my husband tried to give the venue a deposit to hold the date and surprise me. He wanted to tell me once we had gotten engaged but the venue wouldn’t take his money without him putting together a full quote. He kept trying to give them a deposit just so we could get the date we wanted that coming July and he kept saying, “I could pick stuff but you know she is going to change everything, she is an event planner, please just take my money and give me our date”. We did eventually get them to take our deposit after we got engaged and we did get the date we wanted, apparently people don’t like Friday the 13th dates (but it worked for us). We got engaged days before Christmas and by the New Year all the details were in place. I love planning, what can I say?

Even now that the burnt building remains have been cleared and all that is left is the stone water fountain that marked the front entrance, I drive by the empty overgrown lot and smile to myself. In that space, on that day in July, every person I loved in the whole world came together to support me and watch as I married my best friend. Thunder storms and rain clouds passed just before I walked down the aisle to my grinning groom. I was a lucky girl.

There are so many things that I don’t remember from that day almost 8 years ago. It’s almost like I am just left with a warm feeling when I think back. It is also possible that I have changed or exaggerated details in my memories or blurred them a little. I remember the sun peaking out from behind clouds, the incredibly vibrant colors and how I kept wishing I could slow down time. It was over too soon for all the preparations that went in to that one day. I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats.

Grinning from ear to ear
Grinning from ear to ear

Maybe I want to go back to this place in time because it seems simpler and less complicated. It was just fun. When I think of our wedding venue, it is almost like the memory is just a little bit shinier like it is bathed in this golden light. It sounds ridiculous and I realize that. Our minds have ways of playing tricks on us but I think it is okay if when I think of this place and this particular day I cherish it a little bit more. The centerpieces are gone, and I finally threw out the top layer of our cake – did you know if you leave the real flowers on the cake and just freeze them it doesn’t keep all that well?! oops, but I can look back at our photo albums and feel the emotions from that day. I guess that is what special places do. They transport you to one specific moment in time and it is like you can reach out and touch those memories and you are back there getting to live through it all over again.

Mr & Mrs
Mr & Mrs
One thought on “A Room with a View

Leave a Reply

